How to set up a dc hub?

Which hub software is the best? Where can I find script XXX? Discuss it here...(no, this is not for advertising your hub...)

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Lond
Posts: 1
Joined: 2004-03-08 02:53

How to set up a dc hub?

Post by Lond » 2004-03-08 03:03

Hi.

I'm a admin at a lan party, and we want to share our files inside the lan, but I don't know how I do it.
Do anyone have a tutorial I can look at, or can somone give me a guide on the forum?

Thanks

BSOD2600
Forum Moderator
Posts: 503
Joined: 2003-01-27 18:47
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by BSOD2600 » 2004-03-08 04:06


joakim_tosteberg
Forum Moderator
Posts: 587
Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
Location: Sweden, Linkoping

Post by joakim_tosteberg » 2004-03-08 10:51

Moved to hubs and scripts.

TheParanoidOne
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1420
Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37

Post by TheParanoidOne » 2004-03-11 10:32

This question get asked so many times, so I made it sticky.
The world is coming to an end. Please log off.

DC++ Guide | Words

Desiundaground
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-03-18 15:15

My hub doesnt work

Post by Desiundaground » 2004-03-19 13:20

i have downloaded the direct connect hub v 1.0 and it install all well but wen i get into it , it says "run time error 339 and i know it says if that doesnt work then put DCSysTray.ocx into your \Windows\System32 directory but ive even tryed that and it doesnt seem to work i keep gettin the same answer.. :cry:

Todi
Forum Moderator
Posts: 699
Joined: 2003-03-04 12:16
Contact:

Post by Todi » 2004-03-19 13:33

Then install the client, it's what you're suppose to do really. Remember, v1, not v2.

Desiundaground
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-03-18 15:15

Post by Desiundaground » 2004-03-19 15:31

What client are you on about ?? could it be that it dosent let me get through because i have got a firewall??

TheParanoidOne
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1420
Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37

Post by TheParanoidOne » 2004-03-19 15:38

Desiundaground wrote:What client are you on about ?? could it be that it dosent let me get through because i have got a firewall??

The NMDC v1 client. It contains the components required by the NMDC v1 hub.

EDIT: I made this thread sticky for a reason. There is a link in one of the first posts. Please read it and stop asking all these redundant questions. :evil:
The world is coming to an end. Please log off.

DC++ Guide | Words

Desiundaground
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-03-18 15:15

Post by Desiundaground » 2004-03-21 07:33

Mate that doesnt still work ive been through it many times and still the same reply :evil:

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2004-03-22 20:20

Desiundaground wrote:Mate that doesnt still work ive been through it many times and still the same reply :evil:

You sound confident, but installing the original Neo-Modus Direct Connect (Client) 1.0 does satisfy the .OCX dependencies that the NMDC Hub 1.0 has.

hub 1.0 - http://www.neo-modus.com/DCHubSetup.exe
client 1.0 - http://www.neo-modus.com/DCSetup91.exe

Desiundaground
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-03-18 15:15

Post by Desiundaground » 2004-03-23 10:26

Thanks mate!! really happy been wanting to do this for ages :D

Desiundaground
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-03-18 15:15

Post by Desiundaground » 2004-03-25 13:52

Can you use this hub for DC++ the actual program? or not?? and if we can how?

Xan1977
Forum Moderator
Posts: 627
Joined: 2003-06-05 20:15

Post by Xan1977 » 2004-03-25 15:06

NMDC Hub Software is a server.
DC++ is a client.

The hub software resides on a computer. It sits there and waits patiently for clients to connect to it. The hub software does nothing else but manage the clients which connect to it.

Code: Select all

                   server
                      |
    -----------------------------------
    |                 |               |
client1           client2          client3

PseudonympH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 366
Joined: 2004-03-06 02:46

Post by PseudonympH » 2004-03-25 18:56

I find it strange that nobody told him about other hub software. You know, the EXTENDEDPROTOCOL ones?

TheParanoidOne
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1420
Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37

Post by TheParanoidOne » 2004-03-25 20:15

PseudonympH wrote:I find it strange that nobody told him about other hub software. You know, the EXTENDEDPROTOCOL ones?

The link in the first response points to an FAQ page. That contains information about a number of different hub software, including some of the ones you linked to.
The world is coming to an end. Please log off.

DC++ Guide | Words

Desiundaground
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-03-18 15:15

Post by Desiundaground » 2004-03-26 16:46

Thanks for them m8!! :D

Timzone8
Posts: 28
Joined: 2004-04-10 09:33
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Timzone8 » 2004-04-11 00:29

NOT to go against the DC community or anything, but in a LAN wouldn't it be better to just use a switch and connect the computers with some version of Windows and then right click your folder you want to share goto properties and set it as a shared folder...blahblah, et cetera?
Sure a server is good for monitoring and restricting data flow, but it can be SLOW as to a direct link to each computer.

joakim_tosteberg
Forum Moderator
Posts: 587
Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
Location: Sweden, Linkoping

Post by joakim_tosteberg » 2004-04-11 02:16

I'm not sure that argument is correct, myself I can get higher speeds on a local netowkr using dc++ then using the build in filesharing in windows. And also, the filetransefers in dc++ is client<->client, the hub is not involved there.

Timzone8
Posts: 28
Joined: 2004-04-10 09:33
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Timzone8 » 2004-05-22 04:27

" to just use a switch " - It has a Direct Connection too.

waldnert
Posts: 1
Joined: 2005-10-21 14:04

Post by waldnert » 2005-10-21 14:08

BSOD2600 wrote:How do I setup a hub?
:lol: :lol: :lol:

joakim_tosteberg
Forum Moderator
Posts: 587
Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
Location: Sweden, Linkoping

Post by joakim_tosteberg » 2005-10-21 14:15

Just about one and a forth year to late ;)

ameetsingh
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-03-06 10:06

starting a hub

Post by ameetsingh » 2006-03-06 10:11

hello, im trying to download direct connect v1 from many links including from this forum but none seem to work they either take me to some kung fu site or just dont work could some help!!??

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Re: starting a hub

Post by GargoyleMT » 2006-03-06 11:50

ameetsingh wrote:hello, im trying to download direct connect v1 from many links including from this forum but none seem to work they either take me to some kung fu site or just dont work could some help!!??

You'll ned to find a mirror for it. Better yet, use a different piece of hub software. It's very old, and something like YnHub would probably suit you much better.

FCN-Eki
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-02-19 10:03
Location: Turku, Finland
Contact:

Post by FCN-Eki » 2006-03-07 10:06

Ehhh?
Why use old NMDC hub server?

YnHub is much better, easier etc etc.

Still, the best one is Verlihub.

Locked