bot help :(

Which hub software is the best? Where can I find script XXX? Discuss it here...(no, this is not for advertising your hub...)

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Kotu
Posts: 4
Joined: 2003-01-05 16:44

bot help :(

Post by Kotu » 2003-06-09 15:57

Im a complete n00b in running dc hubs. I currently have 1 running with 3 users connected but i wanted to play around with adding a bot to the hub.

The problem is I do not know where to start. I cannt even get one to connect. I Read that you have to send a message from the bot to the hub but i do not understand how to do this since the bot doesnt seem to exist unless its connected.

A url to a starters guide would be very helpful right now.

Kotu
Posts: 4
Joined: 2003-01-05 16:44

Post by Kotu » 2003-06-09 16:43

ok well i got some bots working. The question now is, how do i make bots appear on the user list? I just want other users to see which bots are active.

ButterflySoul
Posts: 210
Joined: 2003-01-23 17:24
Location: Nevada
Contact:

Post by ButterflySoul » 2003-06-10 07:50

Bots are just scripts. They aren't users. They don't need to "connect". They are part of the server =)
If you check the help.script, that comes with the neomodus hub, you'll see that there is this command :
'RegisterBotName(sName as string) Add a bot's name to the oplist.
That's how you do it
[CoZ] Children of Zeus
-----
Shadows DC Hub - VBS and JS scripting at their best

rakie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-01-27 20:16

Post by rakie » 2004-01-27 20:19

Hmmm i have the same problem. I can't get my bot to show up or do anything. I'm using neo modus win98 version.

Sub Main()
sBotName = "AFKBot"
Set oMessages = CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary")
Set oSenders = CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary")
tmrScriptTimer.interval=10000 '*** 10 Second
tmrScriptTimer.enabled=true
'frmHub.RegisterBotName(CStr(sBotName))
End Sub

This is the part that is supposed to register it. Someone please telll me why it doesn't register
Running private hub ********.dynip.com =P
- Rakie

Todi
Forum Moderator
Posts: 699
Joined: 2003-03-04 12:16
Contact:

Post by Todi » 2004-01-27 20:30

Pretty simple.. change

Code: Select all

'frmHub.RegisterBotName(CStr(sBotName)) 
into

Code: Select all

frmHub.RegisterBotName(CStr(sBotName)) 
an ' means the remaining code on that row won't be run, but treated as a comment.

Locked