Script Question

Which hub software is the best? Where can I find script XXX? Discuss it here...(no, this is not for advertising your hub...)

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Animated 0wner
Posts: 36
Joined: 2003-04-09 04:04

Script Question

Post by Animated 0wner » 2003-05-06 11:51

I wasn't sure what to search for, as I'm sure this has been covered before, but I was wondering what line of script I could add to my bots, that show on the users list, to give them a description and a connection.

Marvin
Posts: 147
Joined: 2003-03-06 06:56
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Marvin » 2003-05-06 13:31

You have to send a $MyINFO.

Code: Select all

colUsers.SendToAll "$MyINFO $ALL "&sBotName&" Description$ $"&chr(i)&"$$0$"
Where sBotName is a string holding the name of your Bot, and i an integer setting the icon to be displayed by NMDC.

Animated 0wner
Posts: 36
Joined: 2003-04-09 04:04

Post by Animated 0wner » 2003-05-06 14:09

Thank You! I appreciate your quick response!

Marvin
Posts: 147
Joined: 2003-03-06 06:56
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Marvin » 2003-05-07 15:11

Oops, I forgot something... :oops:: &chr(i)& should be &sCt&chr(i)& where sCt is the string describing the connection type (ADSL, Cable...).

Animated 0wner
Posts: 36
Joined: 2003-04-09 04:04

Post by Animated 0wner » 2003-05-12 02:55

I came across something odd. I realize that this isn't really a big deal, but only people using the newer ++ clients can see the description and connection type. It's blank to those using nmdc or older ++ clients. Can someone please explain to me why it matters?

Animated 0wner
Posts: 36
Joined: 2003-04-09 04:04

Sorry, no edit. :(

Post by Animated 0wner » 2003-05-12 03:01

Another interesting thing I discovered in my op chat script. It also has a line of script to give the bot a description and a connection, but this time, only nmdc and older ++ clients can see it. What causes this? Here's that part of the op chat script in case it will help to clarify things.

Code: Select all

If Left(sCurData, 8) = "$GetINFO" Then
         Dim sReqdUsername
         sReqdUsername = Split(sCurData, " ", 3)(1)
         If curUser.bOperator Then
            If sReqdUsername = sOpChatName Then _
               curUser.SendData cstr("$MyINFO $ALL "& sReqdUsername &" Description$ $Connection"& chr(8) &"$$0$|")
         End If

smitty
Posts: 53
Joined: 2003-03-01 14:45

Post by smitty » 2003-05-22 07:20

you might have ignore bots turned on in the new DC++
Knowledge is Earned BUT Wisdom is Free

Woobus
Posts: 2
Joined: 2003-03-13 00:37

Post by Woobus » 2003-05-22 10:00

Okay, here's one...

I can't get the minimum share feature to work on ANY script I use.

I'm using the NeoModus hub software... I tried their AutoBot, no luck.

I have scripts enabled. I have the scripts in the scripts folder. I know I'm doing something right, (and I know SOMETHING'S working) as I can change the greeting message on the TriggerBot.

But I can't get the MinShare to work for ANY SCRIPT I DOWNLOAD.

I'm really at the end of my rope here. Help?

ButterflySoul
Posts: 210
Joined: 2003-01-23 17:24
Location: Nevada
Contact:

Post by ButterflySoul » 2003-05-23 01:13

I can't get the MinShare to work for ANY SCRIPT I DOWNLOAD.
Could you quickly describe the exact behavior ? I have already seen several cases where 2 or more scripts were trying to check minimum share size, and were steping on each other's feet (i.e. one script would kick a user, and the script would crash -or worse, enter an endless loop- because the user object it was working with suddendly disapeared).

What is the exact behavior ? No one under the minimum share getting disconected anymore after the hub has been up for about a minute ? Some people under the minimum share getting disconected, but not others ? No one at all getting disconected ?
[CoZ] Children of Zeus
-----
Shadows DC Hub - VBS and JS scripting at their best

Woobus
Posts: 2
Joined: 2003-03-13 00:37

Post by Woobus » 2003-05-23 13:54

You know, I think it was just what you said.

I deleted all my scripts, then downloaded one new script (GeneralBot), and that one seems to be working fine.

Thanks for your response.

Animated 0wner
Posts: 36
Joined: 2003-04-09 04:04

Post by Animated 0wner » 2003-05-23 17:41

This has gotten off topic from my post. :( I don't guess any of you know what's going on with my problem. Oh yes, ignoring bots or not doesn't have anything to do with whether or not you can see their description/connection. If it does, it wouldn't affect me anyway as I don't ignore my bots.

ButterflySoul
Posts: 210
Joined: 2003-01-23 17:24
Location: Nevada
Contact:

Post by ButterflySoul » 2003-05-26 08:46

I don't guess any of you know what's going on with my problem. Oh yes, ignoring bots or not doesn't have anything to do with whether or not you can see their description/connection.
1) Try with an | at the end of the data you send, and without ;)

2a) Which trigger/event do you use to send the MyInfo data ? Most people insist on drowning their CPU under all the $GetInfo transiting in DataArival, and chop sub-strings away from there.
If you haven't tried yet, send the $MyInfo from NewUserConnected (and OPConnected); you might get more consistent results.

2b) Send a $hello along with the MyInfo (i.e. "$Hello "&sBotName&"|$MyINFO $ALL "&sBotName& ... etc. )

3) Make sure you got your caps right. When they receive "MyInfo" instead of "MyINFO", some clients are forgiving .... and some aren't =)
[CoZ] Children of Zeus
-----
Shadows DC Hub - VBS and JS scripting at their best

Locked