How to combine networks with dchub. Need advice.

Which hub software is the best? Where can I find script XXX? Discuss it here...(no, this is not for advertising your hub...)

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
pva

How to combine networks with dchub. Need advice.

Post by pva » 2006-02-11 16:56

Hello.

Short question: Is it possible with dc protocol (and software that use this protocol) to force all users of dchub to send traffic through hub? So how to disable peer-to-peer comunications?

Long story, why we need this:
We have two networks, say 192.168.0.0/24 and 172.16.0.0/16 and users in them. There is default route in each network, say 192.168.0.1 and 172.16.0.1. Now we would like to merge networks. The problems we have are:
:!: We do not want to route traffic on our default router.
:!: It's impossible to set route information at each users computer.

But. We have computer (dchost) that is connected to both networks with the IP's in them, say 192.168.0.3 and 172.16.0.3.

The idea is to set dchub server on that dchost and to force allusers to send traffic trough it without any default route. Is it possible?

Any advice appreciated.

Sorry, for such basic question, but looking into protocol specification I did not understand this.

Xan1977
Forum Moderator
Posts: 627
Joined: 2003-06-05 20:15

Post by Xan1977 » 2006-02-11 17:39

This sounds like the responsibility of a level 3 device, don't know why you're thinking as high up as the DC protocol.

bastya_elvtars
Posts: 164
Joined: 2005-01-06 08:39
Location: HU
Contact:

Post by bastya_elvtars » 2006-02-11 19:00

Think it over. You have 2 workstations. One is 192.168.0.13 and the other is 172.16.0.67 for instance. You want the boxes to be able to download from each other via the dc hub but you don't want the traffic to go through the router. You have that dcbox. It MUST be behind both routers, with 2 interfaces, or 1 interface properly aliased. Now I don't know if a DC hub can listen on 2 IP addresses at a time.
Hey you, / Don't help them to bury the light... / Don't give in / Without a fight. (Pink Floyd)

pva

Post by pva » 2006-02-12 04:17

Thank you for your answers.

bastya_elvtars wrote:You have 2 workstations. One is 192.168.0.13 and the other is 172.16.0.67 for instance. You want the boxes to be able to download from each other via the dc hub but you don't want the traffic to go through the router. You have that dcbox. It MUST be behind both routers, with 2 interfaces, or 1 interface properly aliased.


Yes. That is what I mean.

Now I don't know if a DC hub can listen on 2 IP addresses at a time.


:?: Well. Still need sugestion from some guru. :)

joakim_tosteberg
Forum Moderator
Posts: 587
Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
Location: Sweden, Linkoping

Post by joakim_tosteberg » 2006-02-12 04:33

Hmm, shouldn't it be possible to create some kind of VPN and the connect using that?

pva

Post by pva » 2006-02-12 04:48

joakim_tosteberg wrote:Hmm, shouldn't it be possible to create some kind of VPN and the connect using that?


Hm. No. We already use VPN to authorize clients. And we just do not want dc traffic pass through VPN.

Well. I can ask another, but related question. What happens if both users are in different subnets behind SNAT? Can they use DC protocol for comunication? How they can do that. Is it possible to pretend, that users are behind SNAT?

pva

Post by pva » 2006-02-16 10:22

Small bump.

Do anybody know, how should I configure hub/clients to allow clients to work behind NAT?

Locked