So you wanta make a hub..well

Which hub software is the best? Where can I find script XXX? Discuss it here...(no, this is not for advertising your hub...)

Moderator: Moderators

Crack1

So you wanta make a hub..well

Post by Crack1 » 2003-03-22 19:07

Well so did I and here is what I learned in the last hour.

The research - I've used DC++ for a few months. Other then that I'm a newb to this whole file-sharing biz.

Start up - umm well I really didn't do anything. I have an old fileserver with 6 scsi drive that my work just gave me. So I decided to put it to some use outa my house.

The Software - yeah again I really didn't have to think to much about this one. I needed something that was quick and easy to install, oh and that works on WinXP. So I chose Neo-modus at http://www.neo-modus.com/?page=Download This hub software required the client be installed, no biggie for me since I had it already.

Installation/Setup - I just clicked the install file that installed the hub software. After launching the software I set up my IP and a brief description. Set users to max, set myself up as an op and click "Start Serving".

Scripts - Again I have no experiance in anything here so I browsed this forum for advice. Found a sit that had DC++ scripts and I downloaded 2. One that tells jokes evey few minutes and one that tells the time every 15 minutes. At the scripts tag on the DC++ software I clicked "new" and just copied and pasted the downloaded scripts into them. Now I've already logged into my hub and the scripts just started to work. -- cool =)

Now I have no idea if anyone else can log into my hub or not. I havn't seens anyone else in it but me.

Oh and another quick piece of info that I picked up. Your Hub will not regester with the public list for 24 hours(Twenty Four) so don't wig out when you don't see your hub on the list right away.

Well that is my first hour on hub creation. For other newbs trying to start a hub I hope this will help a bit.