DC Chat from Websites (AXDC)
Moderator: Moderators
DC Chat from Websites (AXDC)
I created a small DC version that can be run from a website so that people without DC can still chat in certain hubs. It supports op and vip login, pm, kick, redirect. you can download it here http://www.freewebs.com/sbsoftea/AXDC.zip
See the readme for info on how to set it up.
please remember it is only a beta =)
See the readme for info on how to set it up.
please remember it is only a beta =)
SBSoftEA Test Hub ---> seabass.no-ip.org:413
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
new version if anyone is interested, it takes care of that op login bug =D
thanx to spykie for hosting it =D
http://dc.ww-ei.com/files/Misc.%20DC/AXDC%20fix%201.zip
thanx to spykie for hosting it =D
http://dc.ww-ei.com/files/Misc.%20DC/AXDC%20fix%201.zip
SBSoftEA Test Hub ---> seabass.no-ip.org:413
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
-
- Posts: 23
- Joined: 2003-02-28 03:47
- Location: germany
- Contact:
Re: DC Chat from Websites (AXDC)
Any DC client should follows the DC protocol. AXDC violates the protocol in initial handshake. It's not sending any $Version and $MyINFO is optional. Note, that the handshake sequence MUST be followed exactly when connecting to PtokaX hubs (and should be exact also in case of other hub softs to prevent security holes).SBSoftEA wrote:I created a small DC version that can be run from a website so that people without DC can still chat in certain hubs. It supports op and vip login, pm, kick, redirect.
Also new command $WebUser should be first sent in $Supports command to find if the hub supports it or not!
This is valid handshake sequence:
H - Hub
C - Client
C connects to H
H sends $Lock
C answers with $Key
H send $HubName
C sends $ValidateNick
H answers with $Hello in case of normal user or $GetPass in case of registered one
C sends $MyPass (if registered)
C sends $Version
C sends $GetNickList
C sends $MyINFO
after (and only after) the $MyINFO is sent the client is fully logged in and can place search requests or chat or whatever he/she wants. This sequence MUST be followed exactly (or in modified version to fit the $Supports extension - depends on $Lock).
AXDC client sequence (client data only):
Client connected
127.0.0.1:1275 > $Key r‘’“’±2²2³2²2±’“’‘òróròrñ’“’‘²2³2²2
127.0.0.1:1275 > $ValidateNick testuser
127.0.0.1:1275 > $MyINFO $ALL testuser Test$ $DSL$$2142422$
127.0.0.1:1275 > $WebUser
127.0.0.1:1275 > $GetNickList
Std DC++ client sequence (client data only):
127.0.0.1:1276 > $Key æ£b¢á¢b£â¡b¢ã¢b¡â£b¢á¢b£â
127.0.0.1:1276 > $ValidateNick testuser
127.0.0.1:1276 > $Version 1,0091
127.0.0.1:1276 > $GetNickList
127.0.0.1:1276 > $MyINFO $ALL testuser <++ V:0.24,M:P,H:1/0/1,S:3>$ $LAN(T1)$$0$
Std NMDC client sequence (client data only):
Client connected
127.0.0.1:1285 > $Key 'AÀC�#AÀC�ã�CÀA#�CÀâÀAÃA#ÀAÃAcAÀC�#AÀC�ã�CÀA#
127.0.0.1:1285 > $ValidateNick testuser
127.0.0.1:1285 > $Version 1,0091
127.0.0.1:1285 > $GetNickList
127.0.0.1:1285 > $MyINFO $ALL testuser $ $Cable$$3916283862$
Can you see the difference? :)
Anyway good work ;) If you modify it to fit the protocol then it will be fine. And remember, the MyINFO is esential and can not be optional!
Also the AXDC should NOT fake the share counter! Make it fully functional! Or soon we will have hubs full of webusers with no share :/
Because PtokaX is actually the only windows-based hub sw publicly available with strict DC protocol checking I also recommend to test the AXDC against PtokaX :)
-
- Posts: 23
- Joined: 2003-02-28 03:47
- Location: germany
- Contact:
i don't think you fully understand the point of the AXDC client =P
It is a small client to be used for CHATTING only. The reason it is possible to disable or enable the $MyInfo and to change the share amount, is so that hub owners can make it possible for the Webuser to get around scripts. Same for the $WebUser. If you noticed, the share can be set by the user of the site and since AXDC cannot dl, it is nothing that can be of help to leechers.
It is a small client to be used for CHATTING only. The reason it is possible to disable or enable the $MyInfo and to change the share amount, is so that hub owners can make it possible for the Webuser to get around scripts. Same for the $WebUser. If you noticed, the share can be set by the user of the site and since AXDC cannot dl, it is nothing that can be of help to leechers.
SBSoftEA Test Hub ---> seabass.no-ip.org:413
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
I understand it very well :) Im just not the kind of hubowner that wants waste userlimit by non-sharing ppl. If they wanna chat let they go on IRC :) DC is Chat-AND-Share comunity.
Moreover with this client certain fakers on dreamland hublist can get needed TotalShare amount... But it's other story.
I have nothing against this little creation and I want to support it. Just make it DC protocol compatible :)
Moreover with this client certain fakers on dreamland hublist can get needed TotalShare amount... But it's other story.
I have nothing against this little creation and I want to support it. Just make it DC protocol compatible :)
-
- Posts: 147
- Joined: 2003-01-04 02:20
- Location: Canada http://hub-link.sf.net
- Contact:
It depends what scripts you are running. I have one which reads $MyInfo strings and in order to bypass it I changed the Connection Type for the Web Clients to "WEB" and then bypass those users in my script. This also allowed me to change their share to 0 so they don't look like fakers and they don't throw off my Hub Stats.
I'm trying to find out how often it sends $MyInfo, but, from my testing, it looks like it's once at login and then only in response to $GetInfo.
SBSoftEA added a "$WebUser" command after the intial login so you can tag the user when they arrive as a Web User...I've used that to "announce" users as being CHAT only from the Web.
HaArD
I'm trying to find out how often it sends $MyInfo, but, from my testing, it looks like it's once at login and then only in response to $GetInfo.
SBSoftEA added a "$WebUser" command after the intial login so you can tag the user when they arrive as a Web User...I've used that to "announce" users as being CHAT only from the Web.
HaArD
ptaczek
I am writing some client software. Whenever I connect to the PtokaX hub my user doesn't show up in the user list on the Hub in the HUB software. However the user is logged in and the user is notified to all users on the hub (so the user does appear as normal in all the clients). The user can send messages, and can stay connected for however long the client is running. The user is also transfered everything as normal (messages, search requests..). Everything is great, except the PtokaX hub interface does not list the user as connected.
The only thing I see different is that I am not using a $GetNickList in my client (at least not yet, its not needed at the moment). All the docs I read on the protocol say(or imply) this command is optional to send. So, I don't know even if that is the problem or not, but there is a bug somewhere, and it seems even to be an exploit with PtokaX. Perhaps we can setup some time on the developer hub so we can test things between my client and your hub so we can see what needs to be fixed and what might be faulty with your hub. The version of the PtokaX hub is the newest one off the web page as of two weeks ago (dont have access to the windows box its on right now to check the number).
I am writing some client software. Whenever I connect to the PtokaX hub my user doesn't show up in the user list on the Hub in the HUB software. However the user is logged in and the user is notified to all users on the hub (so the user does appear as normal in all the clients). The user can send messages, and can stay connected for however long the client is running. The user is also transfered everything as normal (messages, search requests..). Everything is great, except the PtokaX hub interface does not list the user as connected.
The only thing I see different is that I am not using a $GetNickList in my client (at least not yet, its not needed at the moment). All the docs I read on the protocol say(or imply) this command is optional to send. So, I don't know even if that is the problem or not, but there is a bug somewhere, and it seems even to be an exploit with PtokaX. Perhaps we can setup some time on the developer hub so we can test things between my client and your hub so we can see what needs to be fixed and what might be faulty with your hub. The version of the PtokaX hub is the newest one off the web page as of two weeks ago (dont have access to the windows box its on right now to check the number).
I still don't get it - is it THAT hard to implement hub- and scriptside? IMHO a chat-only-client reporting to be so shouldn't be allowed any searching at all - the opping features are cool, but would still be easy to maintain via scripts and bots if that need should arise. Cripple it effectively from base to ensure the chat only policy. That way there should be no loopholes in it, no need to lie about sharesize, and it WOULD allow for a somewhat wider audience for sure.
Guest chat via the homepage when a steady user's machine breaks down is the latest 'buzz' in the two private I use. Thx SBSoftEA
Guest chat via the homepage when a steady user's machine breaks down is the latest 'buzz' in the two private I use. Thx SBSoftEA
-
- Posts: 147
- Joined: 2003-01-04 02:20
- Location: Canada http://hub-link.sf.net
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 147
- Joined: 2003-01-04 02:20
- Location: Canada http://hub-link.sf.net
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 202
- Joined: 2003-01-06 06:22
- Location: Salford, England.
- Contact:
the problem is that ActiveX only works with Internet Explorer (i think there is a plug-in for Netscape, but not sure) The problem with ActiveX is that it is a program just like any other (unlike Java,php, etc) it can access close to anything on your comp, so it is somewhat of a security risk, since an ActiveX control could contain code targeted to damage your computer.
But this is no the case with AXDC =)
But this is no the case with AXDC =)
SBSoftEA Test Hub ---> seabass.no-ip.org:413
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
Not online 24/7 come by to help us test =)
-
- Posts: 202
- Joined: 2003-01-06 06:22
- Location: Salford, England.
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: 2003-05-21 19:52
- Location: buffalo,ny
- Contact:
You put it in the web page code like below:
Code: Select all
<OBJECT
type="application/x-oleobject"
classid="clsid:2FD9D1E8-D96B-4E9D-B699-36CDFD708390"
codebase="http://www.iaconhub.com/chat/AXDC.cab#version=0,2,1,7">
<PARAM NAME="Hubname" VALUE="hubname">
<PARAM NAME="Welcometext" VALUE="Welcome to the hub">
<PARAM NAME="Hubaddress" VALUE="hub.address.here">
<PARAM NAME="hubport" VALUE=411>
<PARAM NAME="Sendinfo" VALUE=true>
<PARAM NAME="Description" VALUE="Hub Web Chat">
<PARAM NAME="Sharesize" VALUE="0">
<PARAM NAME="ConnectionType" VALUE="DSL">
align=center
hspace=0
vspace=0
>
</OBJECT>
http://dc.selwerd.nl/hublist.xml.bz2
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
I was already at that that search page I can't read japanese so I skipped the first one. The one I did read said something about my smtp account settings I really don't think my mails settings would have anything to do with my browser. I forwarded the ports any and still the same problem. That is why I posted a question on it ;)
-
- DC++ Contributor
- Posts: 3212
- Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
- Location: .pa.us
-
- Posts: 147
- Joined: 2003-01-04 02:20
- Location: Canada http://hub-link.sf.net
- Contact:
SBSoftEA fixed the PtokaX sign-on issue a long time ago...(Nov 2003) are you running the latest version of AXDC?
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 2004-06-15 03:39
Doesn't work either
I found the old version of it and installed that and could get in for a few seconds but can't say anything and after a few seconds could connect. Then I upgraded and I could get all the way in, it didn't freeze, and I could talk but I got disconnected right after MOTD. I would really like to use this so people on my site can talk to people in my hub. Thanks.
PtokaX TestDrive 4
Add this lua script:
This should keep the AXDC webuser in the hub
Add this lua script:
Code: Select all
function DataArrival(user, data)
if strfind(data, "$WebUser") then return 1 end
end
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 2004-06-15 03:39
-
- Posts: 184
- Joined: 2003-05-26 11:29
- Location: UK