Overall design

Problems compiling? Don't understand the source code? Don't know how to code your feature? Post here.

Moderator: Moderators

Emil S

Overall design

Post by Emil S » 2003-09-09 12:55

I'm very new to programming under the Windows environment in general, I've mostly been into programming for the GNU(what most refers to 'Linux') platform for the last five years. I decided it would be a nice start do some modifications to the DC++ source. The compiler suit of my choise is Visual Studio .NET. What crosses my mind is that Windows MFC programming is far more complex by design aspects. Specifically, meaning the API, resources files and the way GUI's are created.

All that was just kind of a welcome speech to the forum to introduce myself and to help you understand why I'll be asking stupid questions all the time in the near future. :D

My topic of today is the purpose of the StringDefs.cpp file, I sure can guess roughly what it does, but nothing concrete. For example, I'm trying to add a new tab to the settings dialog. I see the StringDefs.cpp file contains an array of strings being used by DC++, but how are they actually utilized? I can't seem to figure out how it could make use of just a plain array? How does it "know" when to pick what element? So, please tell why I should put my strings of use in it, and how to make use of them.

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-09-09 13:10

In order to add a string to DC++'s string manager, insert an identifier into StringDefs.h, then the string into the appropriate position in StringDefs.cpp, and finally a short version lower in that same file. The first entry is used with the STRING(identifier) macro to get you a "string" of your string. The second is the string returned. The third is the short name that's used in the translation XML files.

:) Once you look a bit further, you'll see that DC++ doesn't have MFC dependencies as it uses ATL/WTL for its GUI coding.

Emil S