help: Compiling

Problems compiling? Don't understand the source code? Don't know how to code your feature? Post here.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

help: Compiling

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-06-04 11:38

Hello all :)

I am addressing you guys, becuz I need help.
Well, I want to compile the dc++ source but unfortunately I have no experience in compiling. I am not expecting to be able to compile within 1 day...or 2 days...but I am eager to try.
that is why I need some help. It would be very nice, if you guys could tell me what I do need to compile the source.
I am currently using win2k...but dont know what servicepack.
I just want a complete listing of the software requiered for that procedure :)
later on, I will face to lots of problems I guess.... :)

okie...hope to hear from all the helpers soon,

MaZaKa98

sarf
Posts: 382
Joined: 2003-01-24 05:43
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sarf » 2003-06-04 11:51

Check out the compile.txt file in the source archive(s). It contains much of what you need to know.

This is the software you need :

Either
Visual Studio 6.0 (or compatible program)
with SDK update
or
Visual Studio .NET
(maybe with SDK update)

You also need the stlport and WTL archive, but that is covered in compile.txt.

Good luck!

Sarf
---
Popularity is a curse or a vice, and I can't decide which it is, 'cause I ain't popular.

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-06-04 14:09

Hello sarf,

thx A LOT for your fst reply....I really appriciate that!! :)
however...I would like to know where it is best to download the stlport and WTL...cuz I read somewhere in the forum, that the links doesnt contain the complete version :( could be nice, if you could give me the link where to download those files, which you know it is working for sure :)
and you know, me as a beginner try to compile...and I failed cuz of the software...that is really bad...cuz I would think I am doing something wrong...without realizing it might be the software :)

btw...the site where u put the link for your client...there is something wrong :) check out the NEWS DATE...it is stated 1. JULY.... (not june :) )

thx again sarf


MaZaKa98

sarf
Posts: 382
Joined: 2003-01-24 05:43
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sarf » 2003-06-04 16:02

Heh, thanks for the heads-up on the date - I just fixed it when I started to prepare my update.

The STLport and WTL package should be downloaded from the DC++ project files area on sourceforge (as stated in the compile.txt). Some people need to apply the patch that floats around these forums, but I have yet to have any problems with the "standard issue".

Sarf
---
I'm a solipsist, I don't see why other people aren't that way...

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-06-04 18:51

Hi sarf :)

okie...this is the step I am doing right now.
1st, I downloaded the STLport as well as the WTL package from the sourceforge.com ( http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/dcpl ... p?download and http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/dcpl ... p?download )

2nd: I install Visual Studio Net Architect (have some problems to install it, cuz I wasnt able to do the windows upgrade CD, and while installing it, an error occurs: Error 1935.An error occured during the installation of assembly component {F7B1ACC6-3906-4BC0-B2C7-D42F192C8C17},HRESULT:-2147319761

--> what shall I do? I cannot install Visual Studio Net :( shall I install the STLport and the WTl first?!

MaZaKa98

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-06-04 19:24

Any way you slice it, you'll need Visual Studio.NET first.

Check that your machine is updated (this is a totally generic suggestion). Specifically, why don't you locate the install log for the Windows Component Update installer and try to figure out the error from what failed inside.

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-06-05 01:17

Hello GargoyleMT,

thx for your contribution :)
yes, I did already do the windows update, except updating the internet explorer from 5.5 to 6. I hope that wasnt the reason why it caused that matter. I wonder, if Visual Studio.Net isnt the same with Visual Studio Net Architect :(

man...I already failed in installing the software....too bad!!

:) but I wont give up...hope u guys will still lead me to the right direction :)

MaZaKa98

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-06-05 17:42

btw sarf...

I read somewhere in the forum, that if I still should be able to compile the source...I still will get lots of warnings....
i just want to ask, if you can give me a screenshot of those warnings...so I know that that is normal with those warnings...

MaZaKa98

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-06-05 19:00

MaZaKa98 wrote:Hyes, I did already do the windows update, except updating the internet explorer from 5.5 to 6. I hope that wasnt the reason why it caused that matter. I wonder, if Visual Studio.Net isnt the same with Visual Studio Net Architect :(
Well, if it wants you to upgrade from 5.5 to IE6 (SP1 presumably), you should do so. This is a Microsoft product, and it works in mysterious ways. Or alternately is not used to hearing "No."

Visual Studio .NET comes in many flavors. They only differ, seemingly, in the utilities that are bundled in each package. And price. See MS's official page on the matter: http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/produ ... fault.aspx

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-06-06 12:42

hello all....

I finally succeeded to install the VC.net :) it took me a long time to install it...but it is now! :)
I am using the Visual Studio.Net Architect version...do I still have to install the sdk platform?!
but I think I still have to install the STLport and the WTL package right?
sorry...if I post stupid questions...but I am really a beginner...have patience with me okie :)
so..what is next?

(ps: no error message while installing.. :) )

thx in advance

MaZaKa98
...with great power...comes great responsibilities...

sarf
Posts: 382
Joined: 2003-01-24 05:43
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sarf » 2003-06-07 03:46

Try getting and "installing" the STLport and the WTL package.

Then try to compile DC++ - if it fails you might have done something wrong while installing the STL/WTL so check out the forum for posts about it (there are quite a few).

If you still can't get it to work after your include files directory is correctly set up (read how to do this in the posts I mentioned), post here again and set up a link to your build log.

Sarf
---
I have nothing to declare, except my genius.

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

SUCCEEDED to install

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-07-07 04:55

hello all...

after a long time...I finally succeeded to install vc.net 2003 on my laptop...FINALLY.....

I will soon try to compile the source...hope it will just work fine...I will see...

thx for everyone's support here

MaZaKa98
...with great power...comes great responsibilities...

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Re: SUCCEEDED to install

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-07-07 19:26

MaZaKa98 wrote:after a long time...I finally succeeded to install vc.net 2003 on my laptop...FINALLY.....
Make sure to apply the necessary patches to DC++ and to stlport... They're both available on this topic.

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-07-08 03:33

hi GarlyoleMT,

yes, I will remember this :)
but I heard there is some problems with compiling the source with vc.net 2003...is this right? cuz I only managed to install the 2003 version....and I can tell ya..it tool me hell of time to install it (on my laptop), but I am lucky it is installed now. For security reason for my C-Drive, I did make an image of my C-Drive with the vc.net 2003 installed...just in case I manage to do stupid things and mess up my laptop :)..smart huh??!! :P
thx for reminding me GargoyleMT...I really appreciate that :)
I will let you all know how the compiling process was okie...just be patience with me :)

MaZaKa98
...with great power...comes great responsibilities...

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-07-08 06:49

You'll need to find a windows port of the patch.exe program

http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA010446 ... x1/#difpat

And you'll need to apply the patches in this thread:

http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/forum ... 2003+patch
http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/forum ... 2003+patch

You'll need to learn a bit about how patch works. It's command line, and you commonly redirect standard input to it. You may have to strip off directory levels with a command line.

patch -p<#levels> < patchfile

All of this has a wealth of reference material on the internet, please check there. :)

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-07-08 07:22

ahhhh...

it sounds so complicated somehow...

so much troubles for compiling...hope I can stand it...
I am only beginner...never dealed with vc++ before...and prompt....confronted with so many difficulties... :(

MaZaKa98
...with great power...comes great responsibilities...

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-07-08 07:29

MaZaKa98 wrote:so much troubles for compiling...hope I can stand it...
I am only beginner...never dealed with vc++ before...and prompt....confronted with so many difficulties...
As one of my aunts likes to say: "Life's hard, wear a helmet"

It's very difficult, once you learn the tools. In fact, you come to depend on them. :)

(Figuring things out on my own is how *I* learn best. Sure, it's frustrating sometimes. But if it was easy... what's the point?)

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-07-08 07:38

thx :)

I guess it will take me another 1 or 2 months then, since I dont have that much time to play around :)
...I wonder if there isnt already one whole package of WTL and STLport fot vc.net 2003...just like for vc.net 2002

or even someone zip it...and make it available for others :)

however...I really appreciate your help...I will let u know more...if tired that patches okie...

thx

MaZaKa98
...with great power...comes great responsibilities...

Capone
Posts: 7
Joined: 2003-08-29 01:27

Post by Capone » 2003-08-30 09:21

Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect 2003
Is this what i would need to compile? thanks.

Twink
Posts: 436
Joined: 2003-03-31 23:31
Location: New Zealand

Post by Twink » 2003-08-30 18:25

Capone wrote:
Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect 2003
Is this what i would need to compile? thanks.
You just need visual c++ 6.0, vc .net, or vc .net 2003.

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-08-31 07:43

Capone wrote:
Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect 2003
Is this what i would need to compile? thanks.
You can purchase Visual C++ .NET Standard (or 2003), it will work as well. You just won't be able to generate optimized executables. But Visual C++ can be had for <$100 versus (the best deal I could see) $900 (at codeproject) for Visual Studio .NET. Enterprise architect is another huge money upgrade.

MaZaKa98
Posts: 14
Joined: 2003-06-01 18:39

Post by MaZaKa98 » 2003-10-23 09:17

hello all, hello GargoyleMT..

hope you are still in da house :)
as I already mentioned in my last threads, I succeeded to install the .net enterprice 2003 version and I recently started to "try" to compile the source :) but I am not as lucky as others here...cuz I also failed to compile, and got some error messages :S

I put the include paths as it is reqiured in the compile.txt:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\STLport-4.5-0725
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\compileproject\DCPlusPlus-wtl7.0-src[1]
$(VCInstallDir)include
$(VCInstallDir)atlmfc\include
$(VCInstallDir)PlatformSDK\include\prerelease
$(VCInstallDir)PlatformSDK\include
$(FrameWorkSDKDir)include


and the error message I got is this:

Build Log ------- Build started: Project: client, Configuration: Debug|Win32 -------

Command Lines Creating temporary file "c:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\dc++project\0.250841-k\vc6\Debug\client\RSP000001.rsp" with contents
[
/Od /G6 /D "_DEBUG" /D "WIN32" /D "_WINDOWS" /D "_REENTRANT" /D "BZ_NO_STDIO" /FD /EHsc /MTd /Yc"stdinc.h" /Fp".\vc6\Debug\client/client.pch" /Fo".\vc6\Debug\client/" /Fd".\vc6\Debug\client/" /W4 /c /ZI /TP
".\client\stdinc.cpp"
]
Creating command line "cl.exe @"c:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\dc++project\0.250841-k\vc6\Debug\client\RSP000001.rsp" /nologo"
Creating temporary file "c:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\dc++project\0.250841-k\vc6\Debug\client\RSP000002.rsp" with contents
[
/Od /G6 /D "_DEBUG" /D "WIN32" /D "_WINDOWS" /D "_REENTRANT" /D "BZ_NO_STDIO" /FD /EHsc /MTd /Yu"stdinc.h" /Fp".\vc6\Debug\client/client.pch" /Fo".\vc6\Debug\client/" /Fd".\vc6\Debug\client/" /W4 /c /ZI /TP
".\client\Util.cpp"
".\client\UserConnection.cpp"
".\client\User.cpp"
".\client\UploadManager.cpp"
".\client\TimerManager.cpp"
".\client\Thread.cpp"
".\client\StringTokenizer.cpp"
".\client\StringDefs.cpp"
".\client\Socket.cpp"
".\client\SimpleXML.cpp"
".\client\ShareManager.cpp"
".\client\SFVReader.cpp"
".\client\SettingsManager.cpp"
".\client\ServerSocket.cpp"
".\client\SearchManager.cpp"
".\client\ResourceManager.cpp"
".\client\QueueManager.cpp"
".\client\LogManager.cpp"
".\client\HubManager.cpp"
".\client\HttpConnection.cpp"
".\client\FinishedManager.cpp"
".\client\DownloadManager.cpp"
".\client\DirectoryListing.cpp"
".\client\DCPlusPlus.cpp"
".\client\CryptoManager.cpp"
".\client\ConnectionManager.cpp"
".\client\ClientManager.cpp"
".\client\Client.cpp"
".\client\BufferedSocket.cpp"
".\client\ADLSearch.cpp"
]
Creating command line "cl.exe @"c:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\dc++project\0.250841-k\vc6\Debug\client\RSP000002.rsp" /nologo"
Output Window Compiling...
client : error PRJ0003 : Error spawning 'cl.exe'.
Results Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\dc++project\0.250841-k\vc6\Debug\client\BuildLog.htm"
client - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)


I have to add, that I didnt do any patches yet....

hope someone could help me further..

much help appreciated

thanks in advance

MaZaKa98
...with great power...comes great responsibilities...

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-10-24 19:25

client : error PRJ0003 : Error spawning 'cl.exe'.
CL.EXE? Sounds like you wiped out an important path, since this is part of Visual Studio. Do your Executable Paths remain unmolested?

If so, you might want to try a repair install of .NET

Locked