Search Question

Problems compiling? Don't understand the source code? Don't know how to code your feature? Post here.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
d82k
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-03-03 09:13

Search Question

Post by d82k » 2003-03-03 09:51

Hi!
Is possible to modify the source code by making DC++ return more than 10 results per user in a search???

ThankYou!
dk

ender
Posts: 224
Joined: 2003-01-03 17:47

Post by ender » 2003-03-03 10:00

It's possible, but 10 results is enough.

d82k
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-03-03 09:13

Post by d82k » 2003-03-03 10:06

Do You know how can I change this value and where ... i really need it!
Thankyou

[A&AM]Fireball
Posts: 23
Joined: 2003-02-28 03:47
Location: germany
Contact:

Post by [A&AM]Fireball » 2003-03-03 11:27

*uhm*
it would only change the number fo results YOUR client is sending to OTHERS not the number of results you will get ..

and if you explain why you want to change it might lead to more satisfying answers :)
learn more about the [A&AM]Hubs: AnimeAndAsianMovies.de.vu

d82k
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-03-03 09:13

Post by d82k » 2003-03-03 11:33

That's what i need to do!

Ok i'll tell you everythink:
We are on a lan and we need to exchange files using dc. that's the easyest thing for our case. we have made a dc hub and now we all need a vesion of dc that allows to show all the results of a search.

I was just asking where i can find in the code the information to change. that's it.

Thankyou for your help!

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2003-03-03 20:56

Well, it's most likely in either the ShareManager or SearchManager...

d82k
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-03-03 09:13

Post by d82k » 2003-03-04 06:03

Yes, that's what i was thinking; but i cannot figure it out!

ThankYou for your reply!

d82k
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-03-03 09:13

Post by d82k » 2003-03-04 06:37

Ok I found where theproblem is:
if(aResults.size() >= maxResults) {
where maxResult is what i was looking for; BUT i still cannot understand where maxResult is inizialized...

I have one more probelm now: it seems like the search is made in a random way...
I have tried to find all the "madonna" music on a computer that shares a lot of mp3 in the same folder (something like 1600+) and the search result is 0. if you search "American pie" the same. But with "madonna - american pie" you get the right song.
I'm asking what kind of search algo does dc++ use?

ThankYou

sarf
Posts: 382
Joined: 2003-01-24 05:43
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sarf » 2003-03-05 16:41

d82k wrote:Ok I found where theproblem is:

Code: Select all

if(aResults.size() >= maxResults) {
where maxResult is what i was looking for; BUT i still cannot understand where maxResult is inizialized...
This is where arnes code gets a wee bit cryptic... you see, maxResults is a parameter to the method in which the code you specified is located. In the calling method, maxResults are set to 5 if either you or the other user is passive and 10 if both he and you are active.
d82k wrote:I have one more problem now: it seems like the search is made in a random way...[snip]
May be due to the search speedups arne implemented... can't help you here, unfortunately.

Sarf
---
Life size models of Cthulhu, on sale now!

Locked