ADC 0.10

Technical discussion about the NMDC and <a href="http://dcpp.net/ADC.html">ADC</A> protocol. The NMDC protocol is documented in the <a href="http://dcpp.net/wiki/">Wiki</a>, so feel free to refer to it.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
arnetheduck
The Creator Himself
Posts: 296
Joined: 2003-01-02 17:15

ADC 0.10

Post by arnetheduck » 2006-02-12 16:09

ADC 0.10 was just released together with DC++ 0.685 serving as a (buggy and incomplete) reference implementation. The major concerns that have been brought to my attention have been addressed and unless something surprising turns up, I expect this to be the final revision, minor edits excluded.
You'll find it at http://dcplusplus.sf.net/ADC-0.10.html (just change the version number for older versions), or http://dcplusplus.sf.net/ADC.html which always points to the latest version.

adament
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-02-17 14:49

Post by adament » 2006-02-17 15:06

I have just begun reading the draft and my first question when reading it is what exactly you mean by this sentence: "hashing the MAC address of the generating client followed by the current time using the Tiger hash algorithm." What is supposed to be hashed and in which form is the MAC address and time supposed to be represented or is this not really important as long as the PID is a unique 192 bit Tiger hash?
And do I understand correctly that the CID is the hash of the PID, which is subsequently a hash of the MAC address and the time of first use of DC++?

Thanks for the help in advance.

FarCry
Programmer
Posts: 34
Joined: 2003-05-01 10:49

Post by FarCry » 2006-02-17 17:39

adament wrote:What is supposed to be hashed and in which form is the MAC address and time supposed to be represented or is this not really important as long as the PID is a unique 192 bit Tiger hash?

Uniqueness is of course the desired goal and I agree that the draft is not specific enough here.
adament wrote:And do I understand correctly that the CID is the hash of the PID, which is subsequently a hash of the MAC address and the time of first use of DC++?

Yes, that is correct.

[AzP]
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-03-10 12:47

Post by [AzP] » 2006-03-18 09:53

I am planning on developing a dc-client for Linux based on GTKmm, but when I started reading up on the dc-protocol I learned that "it sucked".

So of course I found ADC, and now I'm wondering, should I develop only for ADC and don't care about the NMDC support?

What's your view on this?

Thank you!

goodtim
Posts: 16
Joined: 2006-02-13 16:06
Location: Worcester, MA
Contact:

Post by goodtim » 2006-03-18 11:57

I would say support both. There arnt many (if any at all) hubs for ADC. I am currectly writing in a project called DCHSharp, however I feel that it would be wise to implement a client that supported both.

ullner
Forum Moderator
Posts: 333
Joined: 2004-09-10 11:00
Contact:

Post by ullner » 2006-03-18 12:22

goodtim wrote:There arnt many (if any at all) hubs for ADC.
There's Aegaeon, DCNet-X, Vaulthub, ADCH++ (not publically released, yet), Qhub and Aquila (besides your DCHSharp).

goodtim
Posts: 16
Joined: 2006-02-13 16:06
Location: Worcester, MA
Contact:

Post by goodtim » 2006-03-20 16:45

Yeah, I should of been clearer in what I mean. There is a number of hub software for ADC available, but the number of actual hubs running ADC is pretty smalled compared to those running NMDC (although this is just a guess, I dont have any numbers to prove it, but ADC is pretty new so its safe to assume that not a lot of hubs have implemented it, although I wish they would). So a client that doesnt support it... probably wouldnt be very useful at least with the state of DC now.

ullner
Forum Moderator
Posts: 333
Joined: 2004-09-10 11:00
Contact:

Post by ullner » 2006-03-20 16:59

Ah, yes, there aren't many hubs running. The only hub I know of is adc://pseudo.hopto.org:9001 but it doesn't support the 0.10 draft. And oh, there's a hublist; http://home.bandicoot.nl/ (sure, there's no hubs there but...)

[AzP]
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-03-10 12:47

Post by [AzP] » 2006-03-21 16:13

Thank you very much for the response.. I'll get cracking then =)

I've never done a project like this before, so I'll be very surprised if I actually get anything working. Hahaha

PseudonympH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 366
Joined: 2004-03-06 02:46

Post by PseudonympH » 2006-03-23 22:21

The pseudo.hopto.org hub should be running 0.10 within a few hours. In the meantime, there's a 0.10 one running on port 8001, but it'll probably be up and down for a while.

Locked