Encryption to protect files and users

Archived discussion about features (predating the use of Bugzilla as a bug and feature tracker)

Moderator: Moderators

Wisp

Encryption to protect files and users

Post by Wisp » 2003-06-26 12:32

The last time there are a lot of newsitems regardig organisations like RIAA who are hunting down P2P users and suing them.

Probably there will be a time when they start with DC++, and since it's easy to grab someone's filelist, DC++ will be an easy victim.

So i was thinking of a way to make people more secure, in the first place there must be some encryption between the DC++ clients to avoid people from outside to see what files are transferred.

Second, there must be some sort of protection of the users, it's now quite easy to download something from someone and see his IP, maybe there is a way to protect this and hide the real identity of the user.

I'm not an expert on this area so maybe it's impossible, but when it is possible (and usefull) it seems to me a very good feature, DC++ can advertise as the 'most secure way to share your files' ;)

Tell me what you think

ender

Post by ender » 2003-06-26 12:44

Filelist isn't proof in my opinion - what if I'm fakesharing? Unless they get all files from me, they can't proove that I was really sharing them...

Wisp

Post by Wisp » 2003-06-26 12:48

ender wrote:Filelist isn't proof in my opinion - what if I'm fakesharing? Unless they get all files from me, they can't proove that I was really sharing them...
that's right, i haven't said that the filelist function should be disabled, i think that there should be a protection for the users (to hide their ip) and a protection for the files being transferred, so they can't monitor from outside what your uploading/downloading

sarf

Post by sarf » 2003-06-27 07:14