Download bandwidth control

Archived discussion about features (predating the use of Bugzilla as a bug and feature tracker)

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
bluechild
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-12-22 15:49

Download bandwidth control

Post by bluechild » 2004-12-22 16:06

Hi.

I have a 10Mbit line and many times I get connected to people with a very slow line. When that happends I remove the user until someone with an acceptable line speed gets connected.

I am not saying that I need a very fast person to download from, but sometimes when I look and I find something going at 530 B/s then I remove the user right away.

Would it not be possible to create some kind of minimum download speed? By this the klient would only connect at start downloading if it can calculate the speed to exceed the minimum limit.

Thanks!

joakim_tosteberg
Forum Moderator
Posts: 587
Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
Location: Sweden, Linkoping

Post by joakim_tosteberg » 2004-12-23 01:40

This have been requested many times before, search the forum for these topics.

Guitarm
Forum Moderator
Posts: 385
Joined: 2004-01-18 15:38

Post by Guitarm » 2004-12-23 02:07

You could always take a look at this client : http://jdcpp.free.fr/ I haven't tried it but It myself but hopefully it fulfills your needs :)
"Nothing really happens fast. Everything happens at such a rate that by the time it happens, it all seems normal."

Stacker
Posts: 23
Joined: 2004-04-30 00:15
Contact:

Post by Stacker » 2004-12-23 02:48

LDC++ lets you set speed rules for up and down connections both/ Also supports multisource downloading.

greebo
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-10-26 07:17

Post by greebo » 2004-12-23 05:02

Choose one from list of DC clients that has "U/D" field filled in column "Upload / Slow Download Limiting".

bluechild
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-12-22 15:49

Post by bluechild » 2004-12-23 09:44

joakim_tosteberg wrote:This have been requested many times before, search the forum for these topics.


I did but I didn't find those requests otherwise I wouldn't post my request here.

All you guys giving links to other dc clients, thanks but no thanks! :-)

What I am asking is for this feature to be implemented in DC++

Gasman1015
Posts: 184
Joined: 2003-05-26 11:29
Location: UK

Post by Gasman1015 » 2004-12-23 12:58

As joakim has already stated it has been requested many times.

Try using the search button e.g. bandwidth limiting

You will also find that it is a rejected feature.

http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13978&highlight=bandwidth+limiting
Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else.

ivulfusbar
Posts: 506
Joined: 2003-01-03 07:33

Post by ivulfusbar » 2004-12-23 13:20

bluechild wrote:
joakim_tosteberg wrote:This have been requested many times before, search the forum for these topics.


I did but I didn't find those requests otherwise I wouldn't post my request here.

All you guys giving links to other dc clients, thanks but no thanks! :-)

What I am asking is for this feature to be implemented in DC++


Stupidest thing i have heard: If you WOLD have bothered to search for "bandwidth", one of the words you use as the topic of this thread, you would have found threads dealing with this.
Everyone is supposed to download from the hubs, - I don´t know why, but I never do anymore.

bluechild
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-12-22 15:49

Post by bluechild » 2004-12-23 18:55

Stupidest thing i have heard: If you WOLD have bothered to search for "bandwidth", one of the words you use as the topic of this thread, you would have found threads dealing with this.


Yeah that I would agree to since I wonder how you could ever hear that!

But to put it in your words - I guees you haven't heard many things have you then little friend!? And I guess that you never make a typo or a mistake your highness!? What's it to you anyway fool!?

Normally I wouldn't get angry, because people are allowed to make mistakes since all do. I did search but my search wasn't for bandwidth. But like I said your highness proberly never makes a mistake right!?! Perhaps then looking words up in a dictionary isn't something to be mad about!? If I should then you WOULD have typed WOULD instead of WOLD! Get a life fool!?

bluechild
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-12-22 15:49

Post by bluechild » 2004-12-23 19:01

Gasman1015 wrote:As joakim has already stated it has been requested many times.

Try using the search button e.g. bandwidth limiting

You will also find that it is a rejected feature.

http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13978&highlight=bandwidth+limiting


Thanks Gasman1015 :-)

ullner
Forum Moderator
Posts: 333
Joined: 2004-09-10 11:00
Contact:

Post by ullner » 2004-12-23 19:54

If you didn't search for "bandwidth", what the hell did you search for?

bluechild
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-12-22 15:49

Post by bluechild » 2004-12-24 11:03

ullner wrote:If you didn't search for "bandwidth", what the hell did you search for?


And you are positively sure you haven't got something better to do? Fool!

TheParanoidOne
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1420
Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37

Post by TheParanoidOne » 2004-12-24 12:15

This is not being productive.

Closed.
The world is coming to an end. Please log off.

DC++ Guide | Words

Locked