Hublist reading

Archived discussion about features (predating the use of Bugzilla as a bug and feature tracker)

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
[FIN]Hande89
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-05-02 10:27

Hublist reading

Post by [FIN]Hande89 » 2004-10-16 15:54

I think it could be more comfortable if DC can read hublist from users hard-disk because some servers, (e.g hublist.org), are very unreliable. And hublist is important part of DC. So that's why I request this feature. I know what is in this forum's description, but http://dcplusplus.sf.net/bugs shows my only the frontpage of Bugzilla.
--hande

BSOD2600
Forum Moderator
Posts: 503
Joined: 2003-01-27 18:47
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by BSOD2600 » 2004-10-16 17:03


TheParanoidOne
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1420
Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37

Re: Hublist reading

Post by TheParanoidOne » 2004-10-16 23:34

[FIN]Hande89 wrote:but http://dcplusplus.sf.net/bugs shows my only the frontpage of Bugzilla.

With all the relevant links there. What more are you expecting?
The world is coming to an end. Please log off.

DC++ Guide | Words

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Re: Hublist reading

Post by GargoyleMT » 2004-10-18 10:13

[FIN]Hande89 wrote:I know what is in this forum's description, but http://dcplusplus.sf.net/bugs shows my only the frontpage of Bugzilla.


You have to create an account, then Enter a new bug report.

greebo
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-10-26 07:17

Post by greebo » 2004-10-26 07:24

BSOD2600 wrote:Use an alternative hublist: http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/forum ... php?t=7106


but in dc++ you can only use one hublist at once.
otoh - dcgui-qt can use more lists and stores them localy.


Wouldn't it be better to use bittorent or similar for transfering hublists ?
So the load on hublist servers won't be that high?

.Sulan.
Posts: 17
Joined: 2004-10-24 15:33

Post by .Sulan. » 2004-10-26 09:26

You can use multiple hublists in DC++, separate them with ;

ullner
Forum Moderator
Posts: 333
Joined: 2004-09-10 11:00
Contact:

Post by ullner » 2004-10-26 09:33

You can't use multiple hublists at the same time because DC++ doesn't store the hublists locally.
Using ; (semi colon) will only force DC++ to use the second if the first one is down.

greebo
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-10-26 07:17

Post by greebo » 2004-10-26 13:57

so the hublist servers will fall like dominos when hordes of DC++ users refresh their hublists....

storing hublists localy for atleast one day would help in short term, but i would prefer using "bittorent-like-transfer" to get hublists.....

Locked