Search by filesize

Archived discussion about features (predating the use of Bugzilla as a bug and feature tracker)

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Stalix
Posts: 14
Joined: 2004-09-05 23:31

Search by filesize

Post by Stalix » 2004-09-05 23:33

I would like to have an option to just search by the size
of a file. Because a lot of people name their files
differently and could even be in another language. For
example your searching for a file and only 1 user with
that file you want shows up and he doesnt have no
slots and even if you do get a slot it is very slow! So
this way you just find the file you looking for and
remember the filesize and search for eaxactly that size
down to the last byte. this would help in finding files
your looking for faster and download with faster speed
by letting you choose the fastest user. Please let me
know what you think and I hope the people who make
dc++ will ad this very usefull feature.

PS, great job so far with dc++, my No1 p2p appz :)

TheParanoidOne
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1420
Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37

Post by TheParanoidOne » 2004-09-06 00:08

Look at the search window a bit more carefully. There are a number of options to help you narrow down your search. One of them is file size.
The world is coming to an end. Please log off.

DC++ Guide | Words

PseudonympH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 366
Joined: 2004-03-06 02:46

Post by PseudonympH » 2004-09-06 00:21

I think he means to search *just* by exact file size. While this is not even possible with the current protocol, it's completely pointeless: exact matching is what hashing is for.

CioDu
Posts: 21
Joined: 2003-11-02 19:46
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by CioDu » 2004-09-06 03:32

searching for '.' with a defined file size should work, since quite all the files have a dot. anyway, I can't see the point of this since same size doesn't mean same file
How can you liberate people by killing them?

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Re: Search by filesize

Post by GargoyleMT » 2004-09-06 17:19

Stalix wrote:Because a lot of people name their files differently and could even be in another language.

This is a problem that TTH already solves: regardless of filename, the hash is the same, so searching for it will find all of the exact copies of it on a hub, assuming all the clients are running hashing clients.

(Yes, I know PH already said this.)

PseudonympH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 366
Joined: 2004-03-06 02:46

Post by PseudonympH » 2004-09-07 15:32

I get no respect around here... :P

Stalix
Posts: 14
Joined: 2004-09-05 23:31

Post by Stalix » 2004-09-10 02:27

it would help me a lot cuz people name there file their own way and if icould search by just the exact filisixze it would help a lot. Like not at most or at least or at normal, but exactly that filesize, maybe some of the wrong file will come up but not a lot. and that (.) dot thing and searching for filezise didnt work locked up my dc for bougt a min cuz too many files found.

All im saying is that it would help me find files a lot faster. oh and another thing in the filesize boz it sux that you cant put points i have to type this long number in bytes, so if you could put points that wouls be cool too.

BSOD2600
Forum Moderator
Posts: 503
Joined: 2003-01-27 18:47
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by BSOD2600 » 2004-09-10 02:38

Stalix wrote:it would help me a lot cuz people name there file their own way and if icould search by just the exact filisixze it would help a lot

So once again, whats wrong with searching by TTH or filename with a min or max filesize? I can narrow down files pretty darn well that way. If you cannot, then you need to work on what you're searching for to make it more exact. Got an example of an exact search that you're found returns too many results?

Stalix wrote:that (.) dot thing and searching for filezise didnt work locked up my dc for bougt a min cuz too many files found.

Great, and you just wasted a ton of the hubs' bandwidth you were connected to by that useless search.

Stalix wrote:oh and another thing in the filesize boz it sux that you cant put points i have to type this long number in bytes, so if you could put points that wouls be cool too.

Points, you mean periods? Such as searching for: 14.999.999 If so, thats a location thing (where its my understanding that in the UK, ya'll use periods where we in the USA use commas). Why do you need perionds/commas when searching for a filesize anways? They're not needed.

Try using DC++ 0.4032, which now gets the local of the OS.

Stalix
Posts: 14
Joined: 2004-09-05 23:31

Post by Stalix » 2004-09-10 02:52

what and how do i search by TTH??

Stalix
Posts: 14
Joined: 2004-09-05 23:31

Post by Stalix » 2004-09-10 03:00

wow TTH is just what i needed, sorry fo the stupid questions. man this is great DC++ rules. once again i look like a fool. I apologize once more for you time wasted on me.

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
Location: .pa.us

Post by GargoyleMT » 2004-09-10 11:05

No need for the self-abuse, just remember to check the documentation and FAQ.

PseudonympH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 366
Joined: 2004-03-06 02:46

Post by PseudonympH » 2004-09-10 14:56

Minus points for not listening the first time, but major bonus points for actually admitting you were wrong (it's ok to be clueless, it's not ok to be ignorant).

BSOD2600
Forum Moderator
Posts: 503
Joined: 2003-01-27 18:47
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by BSOD2600 » 2004-09-10 22:31

PseudonympH wrote:major bonus points for actually admitting you were wrong (it's ok to be clueless, it's not ok to be ignorant).

Amen.

Locked