protection for hub owners

Archived discussion about features (predating the use of Bugzilla as a bug and feature tracker)

Moderator: Moderators

imb

protection for hub owners

Post by imb » 2004-08-11 11:13

i've been thinking recentely how pathetic the current permanent ban system is. nicks are easy to change, a great deal of IPs are dynamic. even a moron can get back into a hub if he's been banned. it's evident something else needs to be done on the client side. if you ban a person, you ban them for a reason. you don't want them there ever again. i think some thought needs to be put into giving each user an individual unhackable number possibly. or something similar. without being a coder, i can see how difficult this would be. i can't pretend to know if it's possible, or be able to contribute any code, but i think it's something that truly needs some thought about. yes i know it would be a long time before every user would have an up to date client, as with the hashing function, but considering most clients are built on dc++ nowadays, i think a start needs to be made. i can see this post being practically ignored, that's fair enough, but i'm sure the coders must agree, hub owners shouldn't have to deal with the issue of users constantly returning, which is almost inevitable in most hubs: when they're already dedicating a phenominal bandwidth and time into running a hub. these sorts of things are very detrimental to the dc network.

second request, which i thought would of been mentioned previously, so did a search for, which yielded no results. option to chose whether a filelist takes focus or not upon download. it's incredibly irritating trying to check users when a list always gets put right in front of you.

third request, a scroll down in the manual kick option, to chose different previous kick messages. again makes it easier in my opinion.

GargoyleMT
DC++ Contributor

Re: protection for hub owners

Post by GargoyleMT » 2004-08-11 12:13