Tool to get you IP into your Connection Settings
Moderator: Moderators
Tool to get you IP into your Connection Settings
Hi there, does anybody know if there is a possibility to get your IP into your connection settings for active mode?
This would be really great, because I am behind a router and have to set the IP for active mode everytime I start DC++ to get it working.
I am no programmer, but I think this could be possible to manage...
hopefully, mooq!
This would be really great, because I am behind a router and have to set the IP for active mode everytime I start DC++ to get it working.
I am no programmer, but I think this could be possible to manage...
hopefully, mooq!
-
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1420
- Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37
Some hubs don't accept a dns as ip, is it maybe DCH++ ?? anyone?
http://whyrar.omfg.se - Guide to RAR and DC behaviour!
http://bodstrom.omfg.se - Bodströmsamhället, Länksamling om hoten mot vår personliga integritet
http://bodstrom.omfg.se - Bodströmsamhället, Länksamling om hoten mot vår personliga integritet
since 0.181 the hostname is converted to an IP by dc++
so hostnames will never get sent...
... this does mean however that you need to restart dc++ whenever your IP changes
so hostnames will never get sent...
... this does mean however that you need to restart dc++ whenever your IP changes
http://dc.selwerd.nl/hublist.xml.bz2
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
-
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1420
- Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37
DC++ doesn't send DNS addresses. It converts the address to an IP address before sending it to a hub.
Ref: this post and onwards.
Ref: this post and onwards.
thanks guys
http://whyrar.omfg.se - Guide to RAR and DC behaviour!
http://bodstrom.omfg.se - Bodströmsamhället, Länksamling om hoten mot vår personliga integritet
http://bodstrom.omfg.se - Bodströmsamhället, Länksamling om hoten mot vår personliga integritet
-
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1420
- Joined: 2003-04-22 14:37
-
- DC++ Contributor
- Posts: 3212
- Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
- Location: .pa.us
Sorry, it resolves the value of the SERVER setting (the IP field) a number of times during the run of the application:Sedulus wrote:so hostnames will never get sent...
... this does mean however that you need to restart dc++ whenever your IP changes
Client.h
Code: Select all
string getLocalIp() {
if(!SETTING(SERVER).empty()) {
return Socket::resolve(SETTING(SERVER));
}
if(socket == NULL)
return Util::getLocalIp();
string tmp = socket->getLocalIp();
if(tmp.empty())
return Util::getLocalIp();
return tmp;
}
oops.. my bad
hm.. I think it's rather odd to do it that often, but I guess it's the best way for those using dyndns services
hm.. I think it's rather odd to do it that often, but I guess it's the best way for those using dyndns services
http://dc.selwerd.nl/hublist.xml.bz2
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
-
- DC++ Contributor
- Posts: 3212
- Joined: 2003-01-07 21:46
- Location: .pa.us
so at least NT boxes doipconfig /help wrote: /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
http://dc.selwerd.nl/hublist.xml.bz2
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
http://www.b.ali.btinternet.co.uk/DCPlusPlus/index.html (TheParanoidOne's DC++ Guide)
http://www.dslreports.com/faq/dc (BSOD2600's Direct Connect FAQ)
can anyone help??
when i go to my dc++ settings for connections when i click active mode, my ip thing iz blank, how do i know wat my dc++ connection settings ip is???????
http://whyrar.omfg.se - Guide to RAR and DC behaviour!
http://bodstrom.omfg.se - Bodströmsamhället, Länksamling om hoten mot vår personliga integritet
http://bodstrom.omfg.se - Bodströmsamhället, Länksamling om hoten mot vår personliga integritet
Hi,
Look @
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d ... p_id=40287
it would be included in official release of dc++
i hope that helps everyone
Look @
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d ... p_id=40287
it would be included in official release of dc++
i hope that helps everyone
So is this feature included yet?
The status of the request is still "open" and noone is assigned to it.
I tried to put my hostname in the IP field but it didn't seem to be resolved... So i've put together some code to resolve it and edit the IP field at client startup.
You can download it at: http://www.dtek.chalmers.se/~johnk/setdcip
Please let me know if the resolving feature in DC++ is implemented (and works)!
The status of the request is still "open" and noone is assigned to it.
I tried to put my hostname in the IP field but it didn't seem to be resolved... So i've put together some code to resolve it and edit the IP field at client startup.
You can download it at: http://www.dtek.chalmers.se/~johnk/setdcip
Please let me know if the resolving feature in DC++ is implemented (and works)!
Code: Select all
jonix Posted: 2003-11-09 17:45 Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So is this feature included yet?
The status of the request is still "open" and noone is assigned to it.
I tried to put my hostname in the IP field but it didn't seem to be resolved... So i've put together some code to resolve it and edit the IP field at client startup.
You can download it at: http://www.dtek.chalmers.se/~johnk/setdcip
Please let me know if the resolving feature in DC++ is implemented (and works)!
My code just asks some random website what is the ip address of requester (you).
Then, the active ip address field in DC++ is updated accordingly at runtime.
-
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 587
- Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
- Location: Sweden, Linkoping
Tsm2, have you submitted a patch to arne in the way mentioned in compile.txt?
Submitting patches
If you think you've done something that more people could use, you can always submit a patch for inclusion in the
original distribution. I will then consider whether I like the patch or not based on things that might seem to be
completely random, which just might be the case. Popular reasons for rejecting a patch include, but are not limited to,
ugly code, abusable features, feature that I don't like that bloat the applications and incompatibility with other
modifications I've already done.
To increase the chances of your patch being accepted, mail them to me ([email protected]) as diffs against the latest
code you can find (for the moment, it should be the cvs repository on sourceforge, but sometimes I forget to
update it, so check the source code distribution of the latest release as well...). You can find a lot of
information about diff and patch by googling for it.
By submitting a patch, you agree to that I get copyright of it. This to avoid stupid situations later on where
the copyright is split out over a million people, each of which could stop further distribution of DC++. If you don't
like this, start your own distribtution, if you're lucky it might become more popular than the original =).
-
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 587
- Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
- Location: Sweden, Linkoping
Also i think you'll have to redo your code a bit, I can't get it to work in dc++ 0.304.
To get it compile at all I also had to add in dcplusplus.h
Code: Select all
------ Build started: Project: DCPlusPlus, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
Compiling...
GetExternalIp.cpp
Linking...
client.lib(DCPlusPlus.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol "private: __thiscall CGetExternalIp::CGetExternalIp(void)" (??0CGetExternalIp@@AAE@XZ) referenced in function "public: static void __cdecl Singleton<class CGetExternalIp>::newInstance(void)" (?newInstance@?$Singleton@VCGetExternalIp@@@@SAXXZ)
client.lib(DCPlusPlus.obj) : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "protected: static class CGetExternalIp * Singleton<class CGetExternalIp>::instance" (?instance@?$Singleton@VCGetExternalIp@@@@1PAVCGetExternalIp@@A)
.\App/DCPlusPlus.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 2 unresolved externals
Build log was saved at "file://c:\Program Files\DC - sources + include\DC++ source\DCPlusPlus-0.304-src-GetExternalIp_patced\vc7\Debug\windows\\BuildLog.htm"
DCPlusPlus - 3 error(s), 0 warning(s)
Code: Select all
#include "GetExternalIp.h"
since i published the source code in other threadjoakim_tosteberg
Tsm2, have you submitted a patch to arne in the way mentioned in
Have you read carefully instructions in other thread ?To get it compile at all I also had to add Code:
#include "GetExternalIp.h"
in dcplusplus.h
i'm not sure...
What's wrong with 0.304 ?Also i think you'll have to redo your code a bit, I can't get it to work in dc++ 0.304.
Hope that helps
External IP to be integrated in DC++
Last minute from Arne
read this thread
http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/forum ... 4896#34896
Be patient
read this thread
http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/forum ... 4896#34896
Be patient
-
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 587
- Joined: 2003-05-07 02:38
- Location: Sweden, Linkoping
It's a shame that DC++ needs that, but the way I solve the problem is right after I connect to my ISP I run a shortcut on my desktop containing this:
"C:\Program Files\TextPad 4\TextPad.exe" "C:\Program Files\DC++\DCPlusPlus.xml"
(this is a shortcut to open the DCPlusPlus.xml file with Textpad)
Then I change the last 2 parts of the IP manually. That at LEAST avoids the reaction from Hubs I have on AutoJoin.
I think it should be possible to make a neat javascript for this, but I'm too lazy.
"C:\Program Files\TextPad 4\TextPad.exe" "C:\Program Files\DC++\DCPlusPlus.xml"
(this is a shortcut to open the DCPlusPlus.xml file with Textpad)
Then I change the last 2 parts of the IP manually. That at LEAST avoids the reaction from Hubs I have on AutoJoin.
I think it should be possible to make a neat javascript for this, but I'm too lazy.